Introduction to Exhibition Halls of Hubei Museum of Art

Located in central China, Hubei has long been reputed to be a large province of fine arts where a great many art academies and fine arts creation institutes are gathered and abundant artistic works are created. The aesthetic guidance and cultural popularization roles of art museums are of great importance in strengthening the aesthetic awareness of the public and promoting the development of contemporary culture and art. Therefore, the construction of Hubei Museum of Art is a long-cherished desire of the cultural and art circles and the public as well as a dream of the artists of several generations in Hubei Province.

Hubei Museum of Art is a non-profit cultural institution intended for public welfare, funded and managed by the government, planned and built in line with the modern and multifunctional targets in order to satisfy the cultural and artistic needs of the public. Since the opening in November, 2007, Hubei Museum of Art has followed the principles of “taking a foothold in China and facing the world, giving consideration to the history and laying emphasis on the contemporary age” and assumed main functions like exhibition, collection, research, education, exchanges and service. On October 30th, 2008, Hubei Museum of Art was first opened to the public for free. In July, 2010, “Hubei Provincial Art Museum” was renamed as “Hubei Museum of Art”. In 2012, Hubei Museum of Art was rated by the Ministry of Culture as “a national key art museum”. At present, Hubei Museum of Art consists of “seven departments and one office”, i.e. Planning and Promotion Department, Exhibition and Display Department, Collection Department, Public Education Department, Academic Research Department, Property and Security Department, Triennial Office and Museum Office.

As a landmark for cultural development of Hubei Province, Hubei Museum of Art is located beside the East Lake in Wuchang District, Wuhan, adjacent to Hubei Provincial Museum, where it enjoys beautiful environment and convenient traffic. Hubei Museum of Art covers an area of 15,318m2, and its main building is composed of four floors above ground and one floor under ground, with a total floorage of about 25,000m2. The total investment reaches RMB 140 million Yuan. In Hubei Museum of Art, there are ten exhibition halls, one special exhibition hall and one image exhibition hall, with a total exhibition area of about 7,000m2 and a total exhibition line of more than 2,000m, where the exhibitions of different types and themes can be organized separately or at the same time. The height of the exhibition halls on the first floor is 4.8m, while the height of the exhibition halls on the second and third floors is 3.8m. The image exhibition hall is equipped with high-tech media players, and it is applicable to the exhibition and demonstration of new media art. In some exhibition halls, the mobile skidding exhibition panels and walls are installed so that the spatial layout can be changed and the requirements for different exhibitions can be satisfied. Furthermore, the exhibition halls are equipped with advanced facilities, including the central air-conditioning system, the constant temperature and humidity system, the central monitoring system, the fire alarm system and the 24h security alarm system. In addition, Hubei Museum of Art owns advanced supporting service facilities, like the modern storehouse of classical paintings, the multifunctional lecture hall, the art exchange center, lacquer art exchange center, the academic exchange center, the art books reading area and cafe. Hubei Museum of Art is a plastic art museum of good taste which integrates the functions of exhibition, collection, research, education, exchange, service, etc.

—— The Public Hall on the 1st Floor ——

The public hall occupies 1,500m2 and has a floor height of 10m. It includes the reception desk and the derivative product sales area. The public hall is a place for activities like the opening ceremonies of various exhibitions.

The top of the atrium is a euphotic corridor, with a length of 100m and width of 9m. This beautiful and practical design allows direct sunlight indoors, which saves energy and forms a beautiful landscape.

—— The Lecture Hall ——

The lecture hall on the first floor is designed and constructed according to the standard echo system for meeting places. There is a rostrum and 572 audience seats and the specialized lighting system, the phonotape and videotape recording and broadcasting system and the surround and noise reduction system are quipped, making the lecture hall an ideal place for organizing domestic and foreign academic lectures, public education activities, multimedia broadcasting or small concerts.

—— The Sculpture Corridor ——

The 1,200m2 sculpture corridor is in the open area on the second floor of the exhibition area, where the sculptures can be displayed in different styles. Along with the development and reform of the times and the renovation of artistic concepts and manifestation patterns, a vast number of sculptures of social influences and academic values have emerged and they are well put on exhibition here. The audience can stop and stay here and fully perceive the unique charm of sculpture art.

—— The Storehouse of Classical Paintings ——

The storehouse of classical paintings covers an area of over 1,000m2 and is divided into functional areas of traditional Chinese painting, oil painting, woodblock, sculpture, watercolor painting and so on and equipped with sophisticated display and reservation devices, like the stainless steel wire-frame dense cabinet, the cross-beam heavy dense cabinet, the drawer-type heavy dense cabinet and the puling-plate heavy fixed cabinet so that the artworks can be collected and saved in different categories.

The constant temperature and humidity equipment of international standards are utilized for the storehouse so as to protect the artworks from environmental influences. 24h monitoring equipments are employed to ensure the safety of artworks. All collections are subject to the digital management for easy reference and invocation.

—— The Art Exchange Center ——

The 400m2 art exchange center is on the fourth floor. It is a place for academic seminars, lectures and academic exchanges. Here the desks and chairs can be combined, the optical fiber network information platform has been established, and devices like projector, slide projector, sound recorder, and wireless microphone are equipped. The art exchange center can hold 100 persons. The open-air square for rest is an open and modern space organically connected to the art exchange center and the exhibition area. The audiences can take the non-stop sightseeing elevator to the open-air square, have a rest, look out to the East Lake and appreciate the city landscape there.                                                                 

 —— The Lacquer Art Exchange Center ——

The lacquer art center is located on the second floor and it is sponsored and founded by contemporary lacquer artists from Hubei. It aims to develop and expand the lacquer culture and traditions in Chu (the ancient Hubei) and create contemporary artistic innovations and designs with lacquer as the medium. The lacquer art center has been devoted to the integration of lacquer cultural resources, the promotion of dialogues and exchanges among domestic and foreign lacquer artists, and the popularization of lacquer art among the public. It aspires to become a platform for the promotion, exchange, development and researches of lacquer culture.

——The Public Art Books Reading Area ——

The public art books reading area is located on the third floor and as the place for regular public education activities, it is open to the audiences free of charge. Here there are albums of painting and journals published by Hubei Museum of Art as well as some collected books. It has also collected many exquisite art books from related fine arts institutions in the province and numerous national key art museums. The contents of those books cover multiple aspects, ranging from visual art to aesthetic theories and education. The audiences can go to the public art books reading area and read those books free of charge during the opening hours of Hubei Museum of Art.

—— Library and Reference Room ——

The library and reference room is located in the office area and it is the place for the collection, management, borrowing and reading of books and reference materials. It provides services like books borrowing and reading and the retrieval of reference materials for the staff of Hubei Museum of Art. To adapt to the development needs of new art museums, Hubei Museum of Art employs the professional, standardized and digital management mode for books, reference materials and artistic archives, and shares resources with Hubei Provincial Library, thus forming new pattern of book management network interconnection.

 


Opening time:9:00-17:00(16:20 stop into the Museum )Museum address:湖北省武汉市武昌东湖路三官殿1号
Consulting telephone:027-86796062,027-86796067 HBMOA all right reserved privacy policy ICP:鄂ICP备05020000号

Admission free:

Tue. to Sun. 9:00 – 17:00

          (No Entry after 16:00)

Mon. Closed(except for national holidays)

 

Contact us

027-86796062

027-86796067

湖北美术馆是由政府投资管理,按现代多功能目标规划建设的,为满足公众文化艺术需求服务的非营利性、公益性文化事业机构。2007年11月开馆,以“立足本土、面向世界;兼顾历史、重在当代”为办馆理念,以展览、收藏、研究、教育、交流、服务为主要职能。2008年10月30日实行免费开放;2010年7月,由“湖北省艺术馆”更名为“湖北美术馆”;2011年,由文化部评选为“国家重点美术馆”。现有机构为“七部一室”,即策划部、展览部、典藏部、公教部、学术部、设计部、物业部和馆办公室。

       湖北美术馆位于武汉市武昌东湖之滨,环境优美,交通便利,与湖北省博物馆相毗邻,是省文化建设的标志性建筑之一。占地面积15318平方米,主体建筑地上4层,地下1层,建筑面积约25000平方米,总投资1.4亿元。馆内有10个展厅,以及1个特展厅、1个影像展厅,展区面积约7000平方米,展线总长度2000多米,可同时或分别举办不同类型、不同题材的展览。其中第一层的展厅室内空间高度为4.8米,二、三层展厅空间高度为3.8米;影像展厅配备高科技影像播放设备,适用于新媒体艺术的展览展示;部分展厅安装有滑动自如的活动展板及活动展墙,能变化出多种不同的空间布置,满足不同展览的要求。同时展厅内配备有中央空调系统、恒温恒湿系统、中央监控系统、火灾报警系统、24小时警报安全系统等先进设施。此外,还拥有现代化的典藏画库、多功能学术报告厅、艺术交流中心、漆艺交流中心、学术交流中心、艺术图书公共阅览区、咖啡厅等先进配套服务设施,是集展览、收藏、研究、教育、交流、服务等功能于一体的高品位的造型艺术博物馆。

 

—— 一楼公共大厅 ——

       公共大厅面积1500平方米,层高10米,设有总服务台、衍生产品售卖区,是举办各类展览开幕仪式等活动的场所。

       美术馆中庭顶部设计为透光长廊,全长100米,宽9米,美观而实用,可让室外阳光直达室内,节约能源,成为一道亮丽的风景。

 

—— 学术报告厅 ——

       学术报告厅位于美术馆一楼,按照标准会场回声系统设计施工,内部设有主席台及观众座位572个,配有专业照明系统、音像录制播放系统、声音环绕降噪系统,是举行国内外学术报告、公共教育活动、多媒体放映及小型音乐会的理想场所。

 

—— 雕塑长廊 ——

       雕塑长廊位于美术馆展示区二楼的开放区域,面积为1200平方米,可固定陈列不同形式的雕塑作品。随着时代的发展和变革,艺术观念和各种新的表现形式的更新,大批有社会影响力和学术价值的雕塑作品涌现,在这里得到了很好的展示,观众可以在此驻足停留,充分体会到雕塑艺术的独特魅力。

 

—— 典藏画库 ——

       典藏画库总面积为1000多平方米,按照国画、油画、版画、雕塑、水彩等功能分区,配备有不锈钢网架式密集储藏柜、横梁式重型密集储藏柜、抽屉式重型密集储藏柜、拉板式重型固定储藏柜等先进藏品陈列储藏设备,针对不同画种的藏品分类保存。

       画库内部采用国际化标准恒温恒湿机组设备,保证藏品不受环境影响;采用24小时监控设备,保证藏品安全。所有藏品采用数字化管理,以备随时查阅、调用。湖北美术馆所有藏品均为国家文化财产。

 

—— 艺术交流中心 ——

       艺术交流中心位于美术馆四楼,是召开学术研讨会、举办讲座、进行学术交流的场所,面积为400平方米,桌椅可组合搭配,建立了光纤网络信息平台,配备有投影仪、幻灯机、录音机、无线话筒等设备,可容纳100人参加活动。露天休息广场为一开放式、具有现代感的空间,有机连接艺术交流中心和展示区,可乘观光电梯直达,观众可在此小憩,远眺东湖美景,领略都市风光。

 

—— 漆艺交流中心 ——

       漆艺交流中心位于美术馆二楼,由湖北当代漆艺家发起创立,旨在弘扬楚地漆文化传统,开展以大漆为媒材的当代艺术创新与设计。中心致力于整合漆文化资源,促进国内外漆艺家之间的对话与交流,向公众推广大漆艺术,使之成为漆文化传播、交流、开发、研究的学术平台。

 

—— 艺术图书公共阅览区 ——

       艺术图书公共阅览区位于美术馆三楼,作为常态性公共教育活动区域面向公众免费开放。这里既有湖北美术馆自主出版的画册、刊物及部分馆藏图书,同时还面向本省各相关美术机构及全国多家重点美术馆征集了大量艺术精品图书,内容涵盖视觉艺术、美术理论及美术教育等多个方面。公众可在美术馆正常开放时间进入其间免费阅读。

   

—— 图书资料室 ——

       图书资料室位于美术馆办公区,是本馆图书资料收集、收藏、管理与借阅的场所,为馆内员工提供图书借阅、资料检索等服务。为适应新型美术馆发展需求,湖北美术馆对图书资料和艺术档案采用了专业化、规范化、数字化管理模式,并与湖北省图书馆资源共享,形成了图书管理网络互联的新格局。

 

开放时间: 9:00-17:00(16:00停止入馆)  馆址: 湖北省武汉市武昌东湖路三官殿1号  咨询电话: 027-86796062,027-86796067
湖北美术馆   备案号:鄂ICP备09002542号

免费参观须知:

开放时间:周二至周日
9:00—17:00(16:00停止入馆)
周一闭馆(法定节假日除外)
电 话:(总服务台)
027-86796062

027-86796067